Add Your Review

Thanks for visiting Tonala Mexican Restaurant. We'd love to have your feedback!

Don't remember the name of your dish? Find it on our menu!

By submitting, you agree to our , and .

Our Latest Reviews

Hawaiizak 3 days ago

Camarones Chipotle

This is absolutely my favorite place to have dinner. Never been disappointed!! Every meal I've had here has come out hot, quick, and super delicious. Tonala is our #1 go to, and has been since we moved here almost 2 years ago, when we have family events such as; birthdays, anniversary's, or even just for dinner on a Saturday!!

Nolanconnie1958 5 days ago

Chile Verde

Was very good, enjoyed it !

Lltaylor6 11 days ago

Tonala Steak*

Well, I have ate this every time i come in. Always delicious. Thought I'd try taco salad next visit. Then next visit i tried the soup. Every meal has been very tasty. The sizzling steak love the red bell peppers, i asked for the change and you made it happen. Best Mexican Restaurant and oh must i say the margaritas are the best! Thank You for a great Mexican place to eat. Friendly Staff by far!!

Dinarkoen 29 days ago

Pollo Al Chipotle - Spicy

I couldn't stop eating this dish, it's so delicious! Loved the big slices of mushrooms and onions swimming in this creamy mild spice sauce.

Amy about 1 month ago

Enchiladas Verdes

All I can say is OMG!!!!! Best Mexican restaurant we have found in WA. We are from CA and Tonala is authentic.

Dickritter1975 about 1 month ago

Pollo A La Crema

Best food and service ever. We now have new best restaurant.

Gutter75 about 1 month ago

Fajitas*

I can not say enough about how good their food is. delicious even ordered a second order for later tonight awsome place great people great food.

Alicialovins about 2 months ago

Avocado Salad

So good I haven't try anything else!

Trtorrey about 2 months ago

Arroz Con Camarones

Thought we ordered Arroz Con Pollo (which is chicken) but got Arroz Con Camarones (which is prawns instead). It was a delicious mistake but a great one at that. Definitely have leftovers for lunch tomorrow. Our granddaughters ordered Little Amigo's cheese quesadilla and a chicken burrito and they love it.

Wilson122388 about 2 months ago

Burrito "Tonala"*

One of the best burritos ive had since living in southern California. Best part is they are down the street! Not only is the food absolutely outstanding, they are family friendly with great customer service.

Delcigalusha 2 months ago

Sopes

First time trying this restaurant and thought it was good (with excellent refried beans and rice on the side)! I absolutely loved the Strawberry Horchata I had to drink though. Excellent service and modern Mexican decor.

Ggittens 3 months ago

Carne Asada*

First day in Tacoma and I must say the The Carne Asada burrito was the best I've had thus far and it was a good welcome to the state of WA add that with good customer service . Will come again.

Kathleen 3 months ago

Authentic Chile Relleno

THE BEST Authentic Chile Relleno I've ever had. Not an omelet with Green Chile, real poblano peppers stuffed with cheese, dipped in batter, fried and covered with a delicious red chile sauce. My friend had Street Tacos and they were also excellent. Restaurant is pretty, staff is friendly and food is Delicioso!

Jenn 3 months ago

Enchiladas Verdes

EXCELLENT!!! When we moved to Spanaway a year ago I was worried about finding a good Mexican restaurant and bot did Tonala deliver! We eat here about once a week and have never been disappointed. Staff is always super friendly and helpful, food is amazing, and drinks are strong! Give them a try you will be happy! Putting in an order now!

Prbellnavis 3 months ago

Super Nachos with Meat

I am from California and I haven't any luck with authentic Mexican food until I came to Tonala. The Super Nachos were layer upon layer of quality ground beef, and refried beans. The chips were remained crispy and the gooey cheese just topped it off and there was enough cheese so the nachos were never dry! I will be back again for these delicious nachos.

Jrendak1 3 months ago

Enchiladas Verdes

Okay, I saw Tonala at a strip mall in Spanaway and thought I'll give this place a try! Honestly, I wasn't quite sure what to expect. Well, this was the best Mexican restaurant I can remember. I ordered a Veggie Burrito and it was the best! The vegetables were so fresh and the overall flavor was AWESOME! In addition, the portion size was easily two meals worth. Additionally, the staff was extremely friendly and appeared to genuinely be happy to serve me. I have found my go-to mexican restaurant!

Nolanconnie1958 4 days ago

Burrito "Tonala"*

Was very good ! Service is impecable ! Very warm & friendly staff. We go once a week 😍 Always happily satisfied !!!

Horseluver442 7 days ago

Arroz Con Pollo

This is always my favorite dish here!!

Roxanne 17 days ago

Burrito Fajita*

We moved in the area 2 yrs ago and eat here atleast once every other week! 5 star for sure! 😁

Elizabeth about 1 month ago

Fajitas*

Lived in Los Angeles my whole life you could put this restaurant anywhere in L.A and they would still be the best .. Much respect to all the people who work there because they are as authentic as there food

Whitt009 about 1 month ago

Pollo Asado

The food was superb tonight! We also enjoyed tacos, delicious queso dip, and a burrito with our party tonight. Beyond that I had the best zombie / mai thai / loco drink I've ever had.

Ron about 1 month ago

Shrimp Burrito

Let me start by saying bring your appetite when you come to eat second of all this place is amazing I will definitely be coming back for more I ordered the shrimp burrito and the queso dip and was in heaven the burrito was cooked to perfection along with the dip my wife ordered the burrito fajita and loved every bite and my aunt ordered the bacon wrapped shrimp the whole experience was totally worth the price reasonable and large helpings we ended up taking home leftovers and ordered flan as well thank you guys for the wonderful service we will be seeing you guys again

Jennabaker987 about 1 month ago

Camarones A La Diabla - Spicy

This was litterally FIRE ! Wow the flavor is so good with the mushrooms and everything. Definitely will be coming back. We also got drinks here and they were perfect! Giant list of drinks to choose from!

Slm about 2 months ago

Pollo A La Crema

T H E B E S T!! A thousand percent recommended. Flavor is sooo authentic and amazing. Definitely beats the competition hands down. Will be back very soon! :)

Stephggallegos about 2 months ago

Pollo En Mole

By far the best mole! I ordered the spicy mole and it was rich with flavor and very authentic. Im usually a picky eater and the mole exceeded my expectations. I recommend the chiles rellanos and the tamales because they are also very authentic, not like most mexican resturants that seem like the buy their tamales and unfreeze them. This place has very authentic flavor and highly recommend for authentic mexican food. Best chips and salsa, it is not the usual tomato sauce from mexican resturants, it actually has a good kick and made with real peppers. On top of the great food, the service is very welcoming and care to build a connection with their customers.

Keithb517 2 months ago

Enchiladas Verdes

4 stars. Would be 5. Server forgot extra napkins and table lacked sufficient silverware. But more importantly, the food, drinks, cleanliness and friendliness of the restaurant was outstanding. Lucy was the best. We will be back.

Aprildbryant 2 months ago

Spinach Enchiladas

I absolutely love this place. I first found them at their original locations in Spanaway and was so happy to have found an authentic Mexican food restaurant. I am in love and so happy for the Tacoma location near my work. The salsa is so good I have ordered a tub of it to go. Amazing food and service.

Ph 3 months ago

Carne Asada*

Oh mi gosh!! Today I had your Carne Asada lunch special and it was divine!! The steak was beautifully seasoned and cooked!! Quality was on par!! No gristle or fat. Not burnt or dry. It was perfect!! Now let's talk about service. Your waiter and bus person were extremely attentive to my family. We did NOT have to ask for ANY refill on water, chips, soda or salsa. Your restaurant has a good thing going. Please keep up the excellent work. Also please recognize your staff from the front of the house to the back because it takes EVERYONE to make your restaurant a success!! I will surely recommend and frequent your establishment from now on. Thank you for being such a great experience to enjoy!! Sally L

Kroot1230 3 months ago

Fajitas For Two

We split the fajitas for 2 every time we go! We absolutely love it. It's so tasty and the staff is so nice. Definitely our favorite restaurant around!

Nickle0801 3 months ago

Fajitas*

We have always had a wonderfum experience herem aervice has been excellent, food delicious as always! ***** 5 stars from our family!

Bwheeler1990 3 months ago

Burrito "Tonala"*

Theres just too much to eat! I enjoyed every bite and i cant wait to come back and eat again. The staff was really friendly as well and thats always a plus



PAST DRAWING WINNERS

September:
Announced soon

August:
Jennifer, Mark's City Grill - Columbus, GA

July:
Rebecca, Frank Gourmet - Buffalo, NY

June:
Donna, Dino's Sports Bar - Cape Cod, MA

May:
Karen, This Little Pig - Amherst, NY

April:
Alicia, Plant Based Pizzeria - Atlanta, GA