Add Your Review

Thanks for visiting Tonala Mexican Restaurant. We'd love to have your feedback!

Which location did you visit?

Don't remember the name of your dish? Find it on our menu!

Which dish or item did you try?

You are submitting your information to Tonala Mexican Restaurant and Popmenu, which powers this site and is sponsoring this giveaway. By submitting, you agree to the Popmenu and .

Our Latest Reviews

Nchidester about 1 month ago

Pollo A La Crema

One of our favorite places to go in Tacoma! Food is always amazing and the service never disappoints! Plus they have the best micheladas in town!

Kfkrampert about 1 month ago

Molcajete*

One of the most amazing dishes I have ever tasted. The presentation, uniqueness and taste of this dish is one of the most delicious foods I have ever had. Would highly recommend.

April about 2 months ago

Burrito "Tonala"*

Delicious like all the items on their menu. I am a huge fan of this restaurant and I eat here weekly.

W 2 months ago

Fajitas*

My family love eating at Tonala. sometimes we go there for date night, sometimes with the whole family, and we also enjoy ordering their takeout. Some places have horrible takeouts but not Tonala! I live the friendly servii I ce and their delicious food with good portions.

Mccheryl4u 2 months ago

Pollo A La Crema

This is always so good. I do not like onions and they always make it for me with out them. We are never disappointed when we eat here. They also have the best greens also!

Teal 3 months ago

Carne Asada*

this needs to be your go to meal when you visit! It is excellent

Dcm144 3 months ago

Chile Colorado

Fantastic rich flavor. This is my go to Mexican food place. Tried it all, never disappointed.

Dajonaeam 3 months ago

Burrito "Tonala"*

Very Tasty! Try the carne asada it's great!

Royalfrenchel 4 months ago

Lobster Tacos

The lobster tacos are unique and delicious! However, the Casuela is the best dish I have ever eaten! It is beyond amazing. I can't eat the sauce so I just buy it 8 orders at a time (yes expensive and yes worth it!) Then I separate it, bag and freeze it and have it whenever I want some. I get such good meals like that and also I get it with 3 meats, chicken, steak and shrimp! You guys are amazing and the items that come with it - avocado, tomatoes, sourcream, and your amazing green salsa which disappears around here faster than chocolate is beyond belief. So good you guys. thank you!

Rhonda 4 months ago

Tacos Al Carbon*

AMAZING! love this dish along with all others we have had, best Queso, and Carne Asada. OMG it's amazing!!!!! our favorite Mexican restaurant out side of Mexico!

Pinkrosebudlee 5 months ago

Burrito "Tonala"*

Deliciousness on steroids! I have enjoyed the burritos, chicken flautas, the enchiladas and tamales. Everything tastes great and staff is so friendly!

Malina 5 months ago

Pollo A La Crema

Soooooooo good. The best pollo a la crema I've ever had. Huge portions, and I always leave here with a to-go box.

Rebecca 6 months ago

Tres Amigos

I'm very picky about my Mexican food this was hands down one of my favorites I've ever had .Definitely will be coming back the staff was excellent refilled drinks and catered to our needs!!

Christina41901 6 months ago

Burrito Fajita*

My husband and I have been going to Tonala in Spanaway for probably 5 years now. We usually go once every two weeks. The staff treats us like family. They treat all of there customers that way. They are very tentative to everyone and you never wait long for your food. I'm a customer for life!

Samantha 6 months ago

Pork Carnitas

I love the cactus salad, the carnitas are so good. All the food here is so delicious.

Kh47783 6 months ago

Alambre Con Queso*

The street tavis with the Alvarado and bacon. I biebe they are the best ones ever . Always our fyrst choice but e everything we habe e er trier has veen anazing and the staff rockss rocks to <3

Hollandjohn91 7 months ago

Shrimp Burrito

Hands down the best burrito i have ever had in my life. I've had alot of burritos from all over this one here my all time favorite noone even come close.Not even when i tried to make it. Love love love it matter fact on my way to get one now...

Palmtrees75 7 months ago

Camarones A La Crema

Delicious! Great portion too.

Heidi 7 months ago

Shrimp Burrito

We have had nothing but great experiences here since trying them the first time 2 years ago! The service is always amazing, food is always delish. I love that there is never a long wait and everything is fresh and hot when it comes to the table. My birthday dinner there last year was my favorite because my fiance got some of our family to come out with us and he proposed to me there.

Dawn 7 months ago

Chicken Taquitos

I've had many items on the menu and have enjoyed it all. Fajitas, Burrotos, the salsa, it's all amazing but my go to item is the Taquitos. They're the perfect and delicious each time. We've had them in restaurant and to go, great both ways. Be sure to also try their green salsa it's fantastic. You can't beat Tonala along with the always friendly staff!

Katienkrampert about 1 month ago

Mucho Grande - Three Items

Best mexican food in Washington state. The service is always great and food delicate. Definitely the best.

Nolanconnie1958 about 2 months ago

Chile Colorado

Very good. Was there yesterday !

Nolanconnie1958 about 2 months ago

Burrito Supremo

Was very good ! These people are so sweet & make sure Everything is perfect. We go every week. Try them out, your tastebuds will be Happy 😁

Lottie 2 months ago

Camarones Tonala

MAGNIFICO! Delicioso, como de costumbre. Ordenamos tambien chicken tenders para el nietecito, pero varios estaban sobre cocidos. Muy crunchy, no se podian comer. Lo demas, exquisito como siempre. Esta vez lo pedimos carry out y todo llego caliente y rico. Gracias!!

Christinalmacri 2 months ago

Fajitas*

So good !! Mmmmmmm veggies nice and caramelized ! Enough for two meals Staff is Always pleasant and all the items we've had are fantastic!! Muy Bueno

Sheila 3 months ago

Enchiladas Verdes

was wonderful.

Guest 3 months ago

Camarones Tonala

Good food and good drinks. Service was great too!

Anahatagraceland 4 months ago

Lobster Tacos

The lobster tacos are unique and delicious! However, the Casuela is the best dish I have ever eaten! It is beyond amazing. I can't eat the sauce so I just buy it 8 orders at a time (yes expensive and yes worth it!) Then I separate it, bag and freeze it and have it whenever I want some. I get such good meals like that and also I get it with 3 meats, chicken, steak and shrimp! You guys are amazing and the items that come with it - avocado, tomatoes, sour cream, and your amazing green salsa which disappears around here faster than chocolate is beyond belief. So good you guys. thank you!

Nan 4 months ago

Carne Asada*

Tender carne asada served with cheesy refried beans, Spanish rice, guacamole, salsa, & tortillas. Deliciously marinated & big portions! Definitely one of my favorite place to get carne asada.

Jack 4 months ago

Asada*

Liked the Asada, but I ma use to a bit more spice flavor, it seemed a bit bland. But overall, I love the food here as well as the kind staff

Malina 5 months ago

Arroz Con Pollo

Soooo tasty. So much flavor. I

Audria 6 months ago

Molcajete*

Love this dish! The environment is friendly and clean!

Rebecca 6 months ago

Authentic Chile Relleno

Husband and I ate there I had this it was absolutely delicious!!Definitely coming back!!

Royalfrenchel 6 months ago

La Cazuela*

the most awesome dish ever! so well spiced yet not hot if you don't get the sauce. delish!

Bdoelke 6 months ago

Carne Asada*

I order 2 ...they were very good, with the separate dish with beans and rice. and the tortilla's wrapped in foil..It made a great meal..

Ray 6 months ago

Burrito "Tonala"*

I love this place! The food is fantastic!! The staff is friendly and courteous!!

Esuehere 7 months ago

Carne Asada and Camarones*

This is one of my favorires, but I have a hard time deciding. I have been eating there since they opened . I have had at least 6 different menu choices and never been disappointed. I will be enjoying this one tonight.

Hammarge 7 months ago

Tonala Taco Salad

Son in law got dinner for my daughter, family and I for Mother's Day and I just loved the salad, was so big have had leftovers for days and still good.

Jennifer 7 months ago

Chicken Taquitos

We love your food. It's consistently good & the staff & owners are always happy and personable

Ariose92 7 months ago

Tacos Al Carbon*

They have the best street tacos ever, everything has amazing flavor! the environment is also wonder, my family loves to eat here.



PAST DRAWING WINNERS

October 2020:
Charn, Vitaly
Costa Mesa, CA

September 2020:
Carol, Stroud's BBQ
Daytona Beach Shores, FL

August 2020:
Jo-El, Mick's All American
Mount Joy, PA 

July 2020:
Bronson, Los Dos Potrillos 
Colorado

June 2020:
Elish, Crump's Landing
Homosassa, FL

May 2020:
Carlson, Papi Grande's Mexican
Amherst, NY

April 2020:
Sommer, Little Calf Creamery 
Thousand Oaks, CA

March 2020:
Theresa, Woody's Crab House
North East, MD

February 2020:
Maria, The Rustik Fork
Riverside, CA

January 2020:
Marsha, Stefano's Restaurant
Florence, SC

December 2019:
Alma, Karai Ramen Bistro
Jacksonville, FL

November 2019:
Courtney, Axe & Arrow
Seattle, WA

October 2019:
Andy, Backwoods Brewing Co.
Portland, OR

September 2019:
Amanda, Home Restaurant
Los Angeles, CA

August 2019:
Jennifer, Mark's City Grill
Columbus, GA

July 2019:
Rebecca, Frank Gourmet
Buffalo, NY

June 2019:
Donna, Dino's Sports Bar
Cape Cod, MA

May 2019:
Karen, This Little Pig
Amherst, NY

April 2019:
Alicia, Plant Based Pizzeria
Atlanta, GA